Friday, May 26, 2017

Types of barium-contrast imaging.

Hello everybody!

Let's quickly revise the types of Barium investigations.

So to enlist the investigations are: Barium swallow, barium meal, barium follow-through, and barium enema.

The barium swallow, barium meal, and barium follow-through are together also called an upper gastrointestinal series (study), whereas the barium enema is called a lower gastrointestinal series (study).


In upper gastrointestinal series examinations, the barium sulfate is mixed with water and swallowed orally, whereas in the lower gastrointestinal series (barium enema), the barium contrast agent is administered as an enema through a small tube inserted into the rectum.

Let's review individual examinations breifly:

Barium swallow X-ray examinations are used to study the pharynx and esophagus.

Barium meal examinations are used to study the lower esophagus, stomach and duodenum.

Barium follow through examinations are used to study the small intestine.

Enteroclysis also called small bowel enema is a Barium X-ray examination used to display individual loops of the small intestine by intubating the jejunum with a small tube and administering Barium sulfate followed by methylcellulose or air.

Barium enema examinations are used to study the large intestine and rectum.

Hope this was useful!

Let's learn Together!


No comments:

Post a Comment

This is express yourself space. Where you type create something beautiful! <3
Wondering what do I write? Well...
Tell us something you know better. You are a brilliant mind. Yes, you are! ^__^
Ask about something you don't understand @_@?
Compliment... Say something nice! =D
Be a good critic and correct us if something went wrong :|
Go ahead. Comment all you like here! (:

PS: We have moderated comments to reduce spam. ALL comments that are not spam will be published on the website.