Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Salter-Harris classification of fractures

Salter Harris classification is used for fractures involving the physis ( growth plates) of long bones. These fractures are common in children as their skeletal growth is not fully complete.

Depending on the extent and the structures involved, there are 5 types as follows: 

Here is a mnemonic to remember the different types, which actually goes by the name of the classification itself!

S - Separation through growth plate or physis
A - Above the physis
L - Lower to physis
T - Through the physis, metaphysis, epiphysis
ER-ERasure of physis ( as it is a compression fracture of growth plate)

Hope this helps!
-Padma Sri Katikaneni


1 comment:

This is express yourself space. Where you type create something beautiful! <3
Wondering what do I write? Well...
Tell us something you know better. You are a brilliant mind. Yes, you are! ^__^
Ask about something you don't understand @_@?
Compliment... Say something nice! =D
Be a good critic and correct us if something went wrong :|
Go ahead. Comment all you like here! (:

PS: We have moderated comments to reduce spam. ALL comments that are not spam will be published on the website.